top of page
Search

Two Poems by Danica Jenck

White = Normal?


Companies

High from mercury –

Spreading poison –

Telling women

Being White

Would make them look

Beautiful.

They


Scrape away money and lives;


Corporations—the ivory foundation of colonization.


Whiteness

Radiates down

On the lovely Filipina,

Scraping Her beauty away

To become a pale imitation

Of White Beauty.






Am I Beautiful?


I distinctly remember watching Barbie movies when I was five,

And wishing that I had blonde hair and blue eyes.


In my earliest memories,

Around me

Was a reflection of my father’s white-ness.

Only my mom

Was a pool of brown.


Until I was 14 in the high school play,

I never learned how to use makeup.

The one thing that

Everyone remembered of me

And my souvenir of the production,

My Paper Plate Award,

Was a reflection of my beauty

With makeup on.


My sister

(the rebel)

Learned how to use makeup

Before I did.

Her skin was worse than mine when I was 13

And now

Is better than mine is at 20.


Ads upon ads

Flood my eye

Telling me how to be

Revealing

My own inner beauty

As if my inner beauty

Was barely enough

For my own vanity.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

CJ Resources & Assessment

Please look through the suggested resources by a member on our Criminal Justice panel and help out Kate Cauley at City University, New York by filling out the assessment. Please email Kate Cauley the

bottom of page